top of page

Dedicated fan or delusional freak?

Dedicated fan or delusional freak?

Cosplay is a widespread form of entertainment originally from Japan where fans of mangas and anime started to dress up as their favourite characters. Soon, it became a phenomenon across the world and cosplayers choose to portray all sorts of characters from comic books, movies, videogames, fairytales, cartoons and so on. The word cosplay is a compound of costume and role-play so it means you do not just dress up as a chosen character, but also act like them. One of the greatest values I see in cosplay is that cosplayers usually create their costumes from scratch. It requires a wide range of abilities from sewing and prop-making, wig styling, make-up to acting and general accuracy in behaviour.

The issue I want to deal with is integrity of cosplayer’s identity. There are many prejudice about “geeks” and “nerds” (groups of people who are heavily into pop-culture), one of them being that they run from responsibilities and real life issues into a world of fantasy. Cosplay, in my perspective, may be a way for them to drag that fantasy into the reality. It may create a safe-space in the real world.

I don’t want to be me, I choose to be someone else. The thing is I can’t.

The main idea is this: are cosplayers delusional people torn from reality or do they comprehend they cannot change who, where and when they are?

I have asked people why do they do cosplay in the first place. Some answered simply: “I just like the character.” One specific answer was very complex and it’s author stated that it’s a way to avoid reality, however she continued it’s a great way to meet new people. New real people with same interests and hobbies. This weird ambivalence in her response made me think - is it possible cosplayers are in fact just normal, maybe a bit awkward humans who take up different roles to be happier in their own skin? It gives me an idea that for many of them going out dressed up may be a huge step out of their comfort zone and actually a kind of way to become the best version of themselves.

The most important question I asked was: When and why do you wear a costume? This question was important for me specifically because I always think whether I should go to the specific event already dressed up or if I should dress up there so I don’t drag too much attention. It’s a question of appropriation. So when is it really suitable to become Batman and when is it inappropriate? It is soothing that commonly, everyone seem to share my idea of running into your fantasy only when it is the right time and right place to do so.

The last question was simple: what is cosplay for you? And based on the answers, this can make a pretty closing part. Cosplay is fun, w way of entertainment, a hobby, a way to learn new skills and meet new people. It can make you better person and give you a huge variety of skills usable even in normal life. When taken seriously, it can be done professionally and it can become a job (mostly as entertainer, stylist or movie/theater prop-maker). There is a wide range of how can cosplay enrich one’s life as long as they stay themslves, stay on the top of things and simply enjoy the hobby.

bottom of page